How to Convert more visitors into buyers

shopping-basket-1065675_640So you have a website and people are even finding your content, BUT… you’re not getting the sales you thought you would. You’ve figured out that just by having people show up to your site or even give you their email address, does not mean they will buy from you.  You need to CONVERT them!

 

 

 

 

DO You Know What Your Visitors Want?

The first step in converting a looker into a “hey I might buy from you” looker, is knowing what they want.  You can do all of the keyword research and SEO in the world, but if you don’t know what your visitor wants, how can you give it to them?

I just listened to a podcast episode of Smart Passive Income, hosted by Pat Flynn, and he was interviewing legendary copywriter Ray Edwards.  What Ray suggested was not earth shattering, but made a lot of sense.  Ray said to find a quiet place, close your eyes, and imagine what your desired customer is going through.  Imagine their pain, desires, frustrations, motivations, and aspirations.  THEN…if they were someone you cared about, what advice would you give them?

Open your eyes and approach writing your content, headlines, capture pages and sales pages totally from the perspective of giving your visitor the best possible solution.  Ray mentioned a bunch of other amazing nuggets for dialing in your messaging which you can find in his book – How to Write Copy that Sells

Ask for the Sale

I wish it were harder than this, but it’s as true in online sales as it is in offline sales – YOU HAVE TO ASK FOR THE SALE. I went up against an outside sales competitor once, who later became my boss and mentor, that taught me this important lesson.

I set up a demo for a copy machine with a potential new client and found out that they were also looking at a machine from one of my competitors. My equipment was superior and price wasn’t really a factor because he was proposing some higher priced accessories that came standard on my machine. I’ll cut to the chase, they bought from him!

When I asked the customer if they could share with me why they decided to go with his machine instead of mine, the answer….I offered to let them test drive the machine for a few days with a commitment from them that they would make a decision and we could close on a later day. My competitor asked if they were happy with the results and would they like him to write up the order. He called THEM to action and asked for the sale.

The Bottom line

Believe in your solution, position it so that you give them what they WANT and then ask them to take you up on your offer. If you want to learn more about how to convert visitors into buyers, pick up Ray Edward’s book – How to Write Copy that Sells: The Step-by-Step system for more sales, to more customers, More often

About

I write and find resources for blogging, writing, and creating content online

Posted in Marketing Strategies

Leave a comment